HE Information

Scroll down for a complete list of Hunter Education Instructors.

To qualify for a hunting licence in Manitoba, any person who obtained their first hunting licence after 1969 must be a graduate of the provincial Manitoba Hunter Education Course or a similar hunter education course from another province or state.

In Manitoba, thousands of hunters take to the field each year. Hunters make this annual pilgrimage to woods and water so that they can experience the natural world and be an active participant in it.

Over 20 million students have graduated from North American Safety/Hunter Education courses. These courses have contributed to a significant decrease in hunting accidents and an increased understanding of the responsibilities each hunter accepts while hunting.

The primary goal of the Hunter Education Program is to help you understand the important role you, as a hunter, have in wildlife management and conservation. Equally important is the safe use and handling of firearms and the ethical and responsible behaviour of all hunters.

There are two ways to receive a Hunter Education Certificate:

Take the in-class Manitoba Hunter Education Course. The Hunter Education Course is a comprehensive 8-hour course and is available in almost every community across Manitoba. Simply sign up with one of the instructors below to take a class.

Students as young as 10 years old can take their Hunter Education Course in-class. If they are successful they will receive their Apprentice Hunter Education Certification Card. This allows them to hunt game birds and wild turkey under a shared bag provision provided:

  • The youth carries and can produce proof of age and a valid hunter education certificate or apprentice hunter education certificate or an equivalent certificate from another province, territory or country.
  • The youth is accompanied by a person who is 18 years of age or older who possesses a valid licence for the species being hunted, and at all times when hunting, be in the immediate physical vicinity of the youth.
  • The adult must include any game taken by the youth as part of his or her bag limit and possession limit.

Note: if the youth wishes to hunt Migratory Game Birds they must purchase a Canadian Migratory Game Bird Hunting Permit and Wildlife Habitat Conservation Stamp.

Take the online Hunter Education Course in three easy steps:

1 – Study and pass the $65.00 online course.
Take the course wherever, whenever! Log in and study at your own pace. The course saves your progress wherever you leave off.

2 – Print your hunter education card.
Once you have completed the online-only hunter education course, you can print out your permanent hunter education card.

3 – Go hunting!
It’s that easy!

HUNTERcourse.com is trusted by wildlife agencies across North America to deliver the highest level of hunter education. Our courses consistently receive the highest level of approval from both agencies and hunters.

HUNTERcourse.com was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by the IHEA.

Official course provider approved by: Manitoba Wildlife Federation
4-999 King Edward Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3H 0R1

If you have completed the Online Hunter Safety Course after January 1st, 2019 but haven’t taken the in class test, you will now be able to go back and complete the online test to receive your Hunter Education Certificate at no extra charge. If you took the Online Hunter Safety Course previous to January 1st, 2019 and have yet to complete your testing, you will be required to take the class again.

Current Course Fees:

Online Hunter Education – $65.00 CAD
Hunter Education in Class – $60.00 CAD

Hunter Education Manual:

This Manitoba Hunter Education Program Student Manual was developed by Manitoba Conservation, the Manitoba Wildlife Federation, and the Manitoba Junior Rifle Clubs Committee.

Hunter Education Manual (Download)

PLEASE NOTE: This course is mandatory to qualify for a hunting license in Manitoba.  This course does NOT qualify for a Federal Firearms License such as a Possession and Acquisition License (PAL)

Hunter Education Instructors:

The following list of instructors is available to help you complete your Hunter Education certification.  Please keep in mind that most instructors will likely put your name on a waiting list. They will notify you regarding date and location once they have enough candidates.

Alexander

• Wayne Dobbie (204) 725-6283 Email: waynedobbie@rocketmail.com

Amaranth

• Donald Lee (204) 843-2330

Anola

• Richard and Tracey Wassing 431-777-FIRE (3473) Email: rft@xplornet.ca
• Alexander Kennedy (204) 510-4016 Email: BigAlngr@outlook.com

Arborg

• Katie Jones (204) 641-0181 Email: katiesfirearmsafety@outlook.com

Ashern

• David Benkoe Email: david.benkoe@gov.mb.ca

Beausejour

• Paul Millan (204) 268-2006 Email: cpmillan@mymts.net

Boissevain

• James Halliday (204) 769-2290 Email: jimpat66@outlook.com

Brandon

• Charlene Dysart (204) 730-5130 Email: cdysartfitness@gmail.com
• Gregg Steele (204) 725-1608 Email: GSteele4570@gmail.com

Carberry

• Jason Dickson (204) 573-6213 jdickson3006@gmail.com

Carman

• Dennis Bell (204) 745-2428 Email: 2bells@mymts.net
• Ed Friesen (204) 745-2923 Email: edsanfr@gmail.com
• Scott Graham (204) 871-1781 Email: Scotte_graham@yahoo.ca

Churchill

• LeeAnn Fishback

Cypress River

• Scott Graham (204) 871-1781 Email: Scotte_graham@yahoo.ca

Crystal City

• Kerry Coleman (204) 873-2532

Dauphin

• Richard Burdeniuk (204) 638-6538 Email: remburde@mymts.net
• Larry Cassin (204) 648-3991 Email: caz2@mts.net

Deloraine

• Wayne and Dolores Howden (204) 747-3901 or (204) 658-3554 Email: wdhchar@mymts.net
• Andrew Inverarity (204) 534-7486 Email: inverarity0725@gmail.com

Douglas

• Bev Richardson (204) 724-5516 Email: brrich@mymts.net

Dufrense

• Ross Groll (204) 792-2799 Email: grollross@gmail.com

Dugald

• Wayne Single  (204) 853-2006 Email: keratin@mymts.net

East Selkirk

• Ken Krochenski (204) 766-2326 Email: kenk22_@hotmail.com

Fisher Branch

• Jason Lambley (204) 372-8504 Email: huntsfromtheheart@gmail.com

Flin Flon

• Lyle Bryson (204) 687-7247 Email: lbbryson@mts.net
• Allen Garinger  (204) 687-7210 Email: allenkgaringer@gmail.com
• Ryan Gray (204) 687-3163 Email: rgray@creightonschool.com
• Daryl Wilkinson (306) 688-0151 Email: d.wilki@sasktel.net (Flin Flon/Creighton areas)

Gilbert Plains

• Brian Senko (204) 548-2250 Email: bdsenko@mymts.net

Gillam

• Mervin Reibin (204) 391-6129 Email: mreibin@icloud.com

Gimli

• Don Hrehoruk (204) 643-5568 Email: patburns@mts.net
• Barry Woytowich (204) 642-9098 Email: woytowichbarry@gmail.com

Gladstone

• Daryl Shipman (204) 870-3018 Email: 11a79@mymts.net
• Scott Graham (204) 871-1781 Email: Scotte_graham@yahoo.ca

Glenboro

• Scott Graham (204) 871-1781 Email: Scotte_graham@yahoo.ca

Goodlands

• Darren Howden (204) 522-5775 Email: wdhchar@mymts.net

Grandview

• Tom Ainsworth (204) 546-2751 or (204) 638-1936 Email: gvoutfitters@xplornet.com

Grosse Isle

• Erika Anseeuw (204) 770-8510 Email: Mbmentoredhunts@gmail.com

Hamiota

• Rene Couture (204) 759-3026 Email: renecouture@mynetset.ca

Hartney

• William John Barrow (204) 741-0768 Email: barrowshuntt@hotmail.com
• Robyn Bodin (204) 522-5989 Email: rbodin75@gmail.com

Haywood

• Bill Hill (204) 750-1944 Email: WR8@inetwireless.ca

Headingley

• Scott Graham (204) 871-1781 Email: Scotte_graham@yahoo.ca

High Bluff

• Larry Gibbs  (204) 857-7184 Email: ldgibbs1@gmail.com

Hodgson

• James Thiessen  (204) 372-6990 Email: jteasin@mymts.net

Holland

• John Godard (204) 526-7273 Email: jgodard@mymts.net
• Scott Graham (204) 871-1781 Email: Scotte_graham@yahoo.ca

Killarney

• Dustin Flanagan (204) 245-1151 Email: dustyflan264@gmail.com
• Clint Fleming  (204) 523-4085 Email: crf1303@gmail.com

La Riviere

• Kenneth Maloney (204) 242-2425 Email: klmaloney@inethome.ca

La Salle

• Ryan Johnston  (204) 736-3067 Email: ryan.johnston@mts.net

Langruth

• Kory Jonasson (204) 871-8106 Email: bigpointbadger@gmail.com
• Cecil Robertshaw  (204) 445-2152 Email: cecilrobertshaw@gmail.com

Lockport

• Dale Garnham (204) 482-4881 Email: dalegarnham@rogers.com
• Thomson Watson (204) 485-1297 PAL Instructor Email: tjw@mts.net

Lorette

• Adolf Unrau (204) 380-9380 Email: adtrunr@hotmail.ca

Lynn Lake

• Fred Salter (204) 356-2758

MacGregor

• Corey Nichols (204) 685-2395 Email: corey.nichols@simplot.com
• Nicole Nichols (204) 685-2395 Email: nic_nichols@hotmail.com
• Scott Graham (204) 871-1781 Email: Scotte_graham@yahoo.ca

Mariapolis

• Ron Delichte (204) 836-2225 Email: RonDeLichte@canadamalting.com

Miniota

• Wayne Poppel (431) 763-1954 Email: waynepoppel@gmail.com

Minnedosa

• Doug Sanders (204) 867-3664 Email: wilders1@mynetset.ca
• Christopher Warkentin (204) 868-0728 Email: chriswarkentin@live.com

Moosehorn

• Robert Payette (204) 853-7585 Email: rdpgunsmith@mts.net

Morden

• Wayne Staple  (204) 822-4986 Email: wstaple@inetlink.ca

Morris

• Scott Graham (204) 871-1781 Email: Scotte_graham@yahoo.ca

Neepawa

• Arthur Mcclay  (204) 476-0412 Email: mudrunner7@hotmail.com
• John Douglas (204) 476-5105 Email: John.rs.douglas@gmail.com

Niverville

• Kevin Druet (204) 299-6946 Email: kevin.druet@gmail.com

Norway House

• Eric Ross  (204) 359-6751

Oak Bluff

• Sam Harb (204) 807-4185 Email: samirharb1@hotmail.com

Petersfield

• Michael Purse (204) 485-3393 Email: m_purse@hotmail.com

Portage la Prairie

• Scott Graham (204) 871-1781 Email: Scotte_graham@yahoo.ca

Roland

• Kevin Brown (204) 343-2270 Email: ksbrown@sdnet.ca

Russell

• Geordie Daneliuk (204) 773-2758 Email: geolidan@mymts.net
• Bob Self  (204) 773-2010 Email: sherrysbobs@hotmail.com

Ste Anne

• Faren Chadney (204) 795-0367 Email: faren@chadney.net
• Robert Bruce Law (204) 781-0061 Email: roblawhunts@yahoo.ca

Ste Genevieve

• Rodolphe Serceau Email: rserceau@gmail.com

Ste Rose du Lac

• Leonard Gray (204) 447-0231 Email: leonardagray@hotmail.com

St Adolphe

• Richard Brault (431) 999-1136 Email: brault@mymts.net
• Scott Graham (204) 871-1781 Email: Scotte_graham@yahoo.ca

St Ambroise

• John Lavallee (204) 243-2009 Email: bird104@highspeedcrow.ca

St Claude

• Marcel Derocquigny (204) 745-0321 Email: milkmanmarcel@gmail.com

Selkirk

• Chris Benson (204) 773-2010 Email: netleymarsh78@gmail.com
• Elisabeth Flett (204) 482-8945 Email: lizflett@mymts.net
• William Flett (204) 482-8945

Shoal Lake

• Gerry Clark (204) 759-3019 Email: bigredtractr@gmail.com

Snow Lake

• Tom Forster (204) 481-0478 Email: t-forster@hotmail.com

Somerset

• Scott Graham (204) 871-1781 Email: Scotte_graham@yahoo.ca

Sprucewoods

• Michel LeBlanc (204) 720-5341 Email: leblanc_mr@hothotmail.com

Steinbach

• Wes Blackmon (204) 390-4947 Email: redeemednow@msn.com
• Doug Dosko (204) 434-6227 Email: lazydl@mymts.net
• Joe Harder Website: JOESFIREARMSAFETY.CA

Stevenson Island

• Dean McLean (204) 456-9225 Email: mclean5166@icloud.com

Stonewall

• Dwain Lecoq (204) 461-3876 Email: Dlecoq576@gmail.com
• Scott Graham (204) 871-1781 Email: Scotte_graham@yahoo.ca

Swan River

• Rick Wowchuk (204) 734-2132 Email: rwowchuk@yahoo.ca

The Pas

• Reg Erickson  (204) 623-4772 Email: safety1@mts.net

Thompson

• Clayton Bradbury  (204) 778-8835 Email: cbradbury@gmail.com
• Jean-Jacque Bujold  (204) 677-4007 Email: jjbujold@hotmail.com
• Ron Byer (204) 679-6242 Email: rbyer@mymts.net
• Christopher Pelchat (204) 679-6242 Email: cpelchat@mysterynet.mb.ca

Treherne

• Scott Graham (204) 871-1781 Email: Scotte_graham@yahoo.ca

Virden

• Dave Andries (204) 851-5536 Email: andriesd@rfnow.com

West Hawk Lake

• Scott Graham (204) 871-1781 Email: Scotte_graham@yahoo.ca

Winkler

• Stewart Books (204) 362-5583 Email: stewiebooks@gmail.com
• George Doell (204) 325-7681 Email: winkler.jr.rifle@gmail.com
• Bentley Dueck  (204) 325-4110 Email: bentleydueck@gmail.com
• Cornelius Froese (204) 362-0761 Email: corniefroese@gmail.com
• Kevin Nickel (204) 325-2927 Email: kevin@krockeis.com

Winnipeg

• Janessa Barnsdale Email: JJBARNSDALE@HOTMAIL.COM
• Scott Graham (204) 871-1781 Email: Scotte_graham@yahoo.ca
• Jesse Marofke (204) 871-4810 Email: jessemarofke@gmail.com
• Christopher Morin (204) 793-7006 Email: cmorin@mymts.net
• Sam Spiropoulous (204) 451-3474 Email: fishhard@mymts.net
• Norman Tchir (204) 256-4372 Email: corsair1@mts.net
• Harry Walker (204) 257-5223 Email: hwalker@mymts.net
• Mickey Hersak (204) 889-9849 Email: mhersak@shaw.ca

Woodlands

• Ken Van Hulle (204) 375-6778 Email: WOODYRIDGE@OUTLOOK.COM

info@mwf.mb.ca
(204) 633-5967 / (877) 633-4868
4-999 King Edward Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3H 0R1